Skip to main content
Clay Olympics Award Winners Announced

Clay Olympics Award Winners Announced

Posted: June 1, 2012

Buffalo State’s ceramics studio was filled with frenzied creativity and fun during the 14th annual Western New York Clay Olympics held May 18.

Along with producing laughter and camaraderie among art students from four area high schools, the Clay Olympics also produced winners. Pioneer High School took first place in the timed clay construction events that included who could build the tallest tower of clay, make the most cups, or construct a pot on the pottery wheel without using their hands. Lewiston-Porter High took second place in the overall competition, followed by Kenmore East and Lancaster.

“It is great to see the enthusiasm, excitement, and energy of the students competing in the Clay Olympics this year,” said Robert Wood, chair of design and coordinator of the ceramics program. “The talent demonstrated by the students and the ceramic artwork exhibited is particularly strong and a reflection of their teachers’ ability to draw out the best from each student.

“As all four of the high school art teachers are alumni of the ceramics and art education programs at Buffalo State, it is rewarding to see them passing on what they have learned and to see the successes they are having within their own art programs.”

Students also had the opportunity compete in an art contest held in Upton Hall's Czurles-Nelson Gallery. Josh Kraft (Pioneer) took first place, followed by Jennifer Conrad (Pioneer) in second place and Kenton Smith (Pioneer) in third. The traditional pottery award went to Valerie Adolf (Lancaster). Four students also received honorable mentions: Dylan Szucs (Kenmore East), Carissa Cecconi (Lewiston-Porter); Kayla Wagner (Lancaster); and Jordan Powell (Pioneer).

All the winning artists received cash awards made possible by the Sylvia L. Rosen Endowment at the Burchfield Penney Art Center.

Tagged as: , , ,

News Archive

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Mark Norris
Editor, News and Events
(716) 878-4859

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Design |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |