Skip to main content
October 4, 2018

Composer Ethan Hayden Presents: μ-movements with Special Guests Wooden Cities and f-f-f-f-Faulty Tower

7:30 p.m. 11:57 p.m. Event has no end time
7:30 p.m. | Ciminelli Recital Hall

Ethan Hayden

with special guests Wooden Cities and f-f-f-f-Faulty Tower


Composer, performer, and Buffalo State Digital Music Instructor Ethan Hayden presents μ-movements, a concert of works which build expansive sound worlds from narrow bands of pitches or limited physical movements, and which includes music for trombone, voice, kalimba, and electronics. The program features two world premieres of new pieces by the composer—one for bassoon reed trombone, drum set and electronics, and the other for chamber ensemble, performed by special guests f-f-f-f-Faulty Tower and Wooden Cities, respectively. The concert will also feature a performance of Dmitri Kourliandski's Voice-off, a piece Hayden recently performed as part of the NY Philharmonic's CONTACT! series at National Sawdust—which was hailed by the New York Times as "a tour de force performance" and "amazing to hear."  Also featured are two works for trombone and oscillators by American experimental composers Pauline Oliveros and Alvin Lucier.

Ethan Hayden is a composer, performer, and author based in America's Rust Belt. His acoustic, electronic, and vocal music has been performed at conferences, festivals, and DIY spaces around the world. He received his M.A. and Ph.D. in Composition from the University at Buffalo, and also holds undergraduate degrees in Composition and Theory from the University of North Texas. His principal composition teachers include Cort Lippe, Jeffrey Stadelman, Joseph Klein, Andrew May, and David Bithell. He currently teaches sound synthesis and electroacoustic composition at Buffalo State College.

Also active as a performer, Ethan regularly presents new and experimental works for voice, trombone, and electronics. He is the associate director of Wooden Cities, a Buffalo-based contemporary music ensemble, and the technical director of Null Point, an initiative for new sound art in WNY. He is the author of Sigur Rós's ( ), published as part of Bloomsbury's 33⅓ series.

Alvin Lucier
Wind Shadows (1994)
for trombone with closely tuned pure wave oscillators

Ethan Hayden
In Wahrheit saß ein buckliger Zwerg darin… (2013)
for kalimba and electronics

Ethan Hayden
For $5, I'll show you my daughter's burns (2018)*
for bassoon-reed trombone, drum set, feedback mixer, and laptop

Dmitri Kourliandski
Voice-off (2011)
for solo voice

Ethan Hayden
We Demand the Right to Piss in Different Colors (2018)*
for chamber ensemble

Pauline Oliveros
Heart of Tones (1999)
for trombone, oscillators, and chamber ensemble

*world premiere

Doors open at 7:00 p.m. Performance starts at 7:30 p.m.

Handicap accessible entrance with elevator to the recital hall located via the building entrance at parking lot I-30 (rear of Rockwell Hall off the Iroquois Drive entrance to campus off Elmwood Avenue). Free parking in the general campus lots surrounding Rockwell Hall (Lots R-1, R-2, R-3 off the Rockwell Road entrance to campus; Lots I-30, I-32, I-33 off the Iroquois entrance to campus).

Open to: everyone

Buy tickets online.