Winners of "Nominate a Teacher" Contest to Be Honored

Winners of "Nominate a Teacher" Contest to Be Honored

Posted: April 30, 2014

Congratulations to Lynn Boorady (pictured), chair and associate professor of fashion and textile technology. Boorady was nominated by Rachel Hamerski in the “Nominate a Teacher” contest, part of Buffalo State’s Year of the Teacher celebration. Hamerski’s essay nominating Boorady received the winning number of votes.

Boorady and the other nine finalists will be honored at a reception at Buffalo State on Thursday, May 1. Wendy Paterson, dean of the School of Education, will present Boorady with an excellence in teaching award. As a prize for submitting the winning essay, Hamerski will receive an iPad mini.

The top ten teachers, the school at which they teach, and the students who nominated them are:

  • Daniel Blum (Buffalo State) nominated by Justin Schulman
  • Joi Chimera (Kenmore Middle) nominated by Maya McGee
  • V Anthony DiRienzo (Buffalo State) nominated by Timothy Tate
  • David Henry (Buffalo State) nominated by Laura Imperiale
  • Kirsten Eurenius (Buffalo State) nominated by Bethany Person
  • Lorna Hill (Buffalo Academy for Visual and Performing Arts) nominated by Alexis D'Amico
  • Russel Lis (McKinley High) nominated by Vanessa Pereira
  • John Steckstor (Attica Central) nominated by Kaylee Melven
  • Tamra Hollowell (Allegany-Limestone High) nominated by Katherine Maguire

"Few teachers will ever know how they have transformed and shaped our lives. We wanted to give our students a chance to tell them," said Paterson. "We are grateful to everyone who submitted an essay to celebrate an admired teacher because they remind us that the greatest reward for teachers is having a lasting and positive effect on a student’s life."

A committee chose the top ten essays, and the Buffalo State community voted to choose the winner.

Tagged as: , , , , , , ,


No comments have been posted


We welcome and encourage your input regarding our stories.

To comment, you must enter and verify a valid e-mail address. To verify: Click on the verification link in the e-mail you receive from Buffalo State. You only need to register once.

Registered commenters agree not to post messages of questionable taste, that are libelous, or offensive.

Comments that are deemed inappropriate may be edited or deleted without notice. Users who repeatedly violate these guidelines will be banned.

Name (required)
E-mail (required, but will not be published)
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Leave this field blank

News Archive

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod Dahlgren
Director, Public Relations
(716) 878-4201

Mary A. Durlak
Senior Writer, Public Relations
(716) 878-3517

Laurie Kaiser
Staff Writer, Public Relations
(716) 878-3520

Mark Norris
Editor, News and Events
(716) 878-4859

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Design |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |