Skip to main content
Senior Wins Year of the City Logo Design Contest

Senior Wins Year of the City Logo Design Contest

Posted: May 18, 2012

Andrew Henesey, a senior design major from Buffalo, has been selected as the winner of the Year of the City logo design contest.

Henesey earned the $250 top prize for his logo that features the Buffalo skyline—plus Rockwell Hall.

“There were a number of strong entries, but this one stood out,” said Mark Severson, dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences and chair of the Year of the City planning committee.

The logo will be used to promote the Year of the City in official print and web materials and will be made available to the campus community for use in promoting Year of the City events and programs.

In an effort to building on the success of the Year of the Arts, president Aaron Podolefsky has declared the 2012–2013 academic year at Buffalo State to be the Year of the City. The university will celebrate its many city-based community partnerships, programs, and initiatives; develop new initiatives to involve more members of the Buffalo State community in civic engagement; and welcome residents from all parts of the metropolitan area to events and programs at Buffalo State.

The Year of the City logo design contest, which was open to all Buffalo State students, was sponsored by the Year of the City planning committee and supported by the College Relations Office and the Design Department. Henesey’s design was the consensus choice of a panel that included Severson; Timothy J. Walsh, associate vice president for College Relations; Brian Kantz, publications director (College Relations Office); Lynda Donati, art director (College Relations Office); Chantel Kutzbach, assistant graphic designer (College Relations Office); and Stan Friesen, associate professor of design.

Pictured: Andrew Henesey displays an early version of his Year of the City logo.

Tagged as:

News Archive

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |