Skip to main content
Public Administration Program to Honor Mayor Byron Brown

Public Administration Program to Honor Mayor Byron Brown

Posted: May 9, 2017

The public administration graduate program at Buffalo State, which provides specialized training for those pursuing leadership roles in the public and nonprofit sectors, is taking the lead in celebrating Public Service Recognition Week.

Public Service Recognition Week, which takes place from May 7 to May 13, has been observed since 1985 to honor those who serve as federal, state, county, and local government employees.

On Wednesday, May 10, a conference will be held on campus from noon to 4:30 to examine national and local issues affecting the lives of Americans. Panel topics include New York State’s Two Percent Property Tax Cap; International NGOs, Impacts and Implications; Government and Diversity in the New Administration; and Nonprofit Roundtable on Fiscal Constraints and Long-term Sustainability.

Buffalo Mayor Byron Brown, '83, will receive an award for Outstanding Service to SUNY Buffalo State's MPA program following the event's dinner in the Campbell Student Union Social Hall. Kyle Farmbry, dean of the graduate school and professor of public affairs and administration at Rutgers University-Newark, will deliver the keynote speech.

Other awards presented:

  • Outstanding MPA Alumni Award: Miguel Reyes-Mariano
  • Outstanding 2017 MPA projects: Kayla Carrasquillo, Joseph Gramaglia
  • Dr. Keith Henderson Scholarship: Makenzie Docteur

SUNY Chancellor’s Award winner Monique Owens and New York State Excelsior Service Fellows Carrasquillo, Kimberly Renda, and Naima Yancy will also be recognized.

The following students will be inducted into Phi Alpha Alpha, the National Honor Society for Public Affairs and Administration: Anthony Astran, Michael Hughes, Caitlin McNulty, Owens, Lauren Picone, and Reyes-Mariano.

“We look forward to a robust and invigorating discussion,” said Atta A. Ceesay, assistant professor of public administration. Ceesay coordinates the program’s nonprofit track

Tagged as: , , , ,

News Archive

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |