Skip to main content
Faculty, Staff, Students, and Programs Recognized for Promotion of Diversity

Faculty, Staff, Students, and Programs Recognized for Promotion of Diversity

Posted: April 21, 2017

Recipients of the 2017 Dr. Muriel A. Howard Presidential Award for the Promotion of Equity and Campus Diversity were recognized at a ceremony held on campus April 11.

The award recognizes faculty and staff members who promote respect for diversity and individual differences through classroom discussions, curricular experiences, out-of-classroom activities, projects, conversations, or special mentorships that go beyond what is usually expected as a part of their regular job expectations or teaching assignments.

Nominations were submitted by students, faculty, and staff to acknowledge members of the campus community who reflect these values of respect for diversity and advocacy for social justice.

Since the award’s inception, 71 faculty, staff, and programs have been honored.

Introductions were offered by Lisa Morrison-Fronckowiak, director of Student Accessibility Services and co-chair of the President’s Council on Equity and Campus Diversity.

President Conway-Turner honored faculty and staff members, minigrant recipients, and other supportive guests at the annual event.

“We at Buffalo State take pride in our commitment to embracing the principles of diversity and individual differences among the many and varied constituents that we interact with on campus and in the communities that surround us,” said President Conway-Turner. “These guiding principles inform our individual daily practices in our teaching, learning, research, and service initiatives.”

This year’s Muriel A. Howard Award faculty recipients were Michelle Bae-Dimitriadis, assistant professor of art education, and Kimberly Zittel-Barr (at left), chair and associate professor of social work.

The Presidential Special Program Recognition Award was given to Keunyoung Oh, associate professor of fashion and textile technology, for the “New World, New Wardrobe” clothing drive.

“We have a campus community that embraces all aspects of diversity,” noted Karen Clinton Jones, chief diversity officer. “Our commitment to and respect for diversity and inclusion is what makes us unique as a community.”

2016-2017 Program Grant Recipients

  • “New Developments in the Study of Race and Politics,” submitted by Rick Fleming, Music Department

  • “One Love Foundation – Escalation Workshop and Yards for Yeardley,” submitted by Weigel Health Promotions

  • “Men Who Network,” submitted by AAMEN (African American Men Empowering Network), USG

  • “Addressing ‘Othering’ with Oral Histories, Storytelling, and Self-Care Practices,” submitted by Eve Everette, Anne Frank Project and Theater Department, and Heather Gring, Burchfield Penney Art Center

  • “The Sixth Cross-Border Post Keynesian Conference: Populism, Heterodoxy, and Globalization,” submitted by Joelle Leclaire, Economics and Finance Department

  • “Death and Dissent at Kent State in the 1960s,” submitted by John Abromeit, History and Social Studies Education

  • “I Am Culture” submitted by the Caribbean Student Organization, USG

  • “Flag Football Showdown” submitted by Best Buddies, USG

  • “Human Library of Buffalo” submitted by Leah Galka,  E. H. Butler Library

  • “The Women Changing Arts Leadership Festival and Symposium,” submitted by Buffalo State Guitar Club, USG

Women and Gender Studies Student Award Recipients 2016-2017

Outstanding Student Award
Sage Cerbone
History and English major, Women and Gender Studies minor

Graduating Senior Award
Giannina Callejas
Sociology major, Women and Gender Studies minor






Top: Jason Parker, diversity program coordinator; Janet Fehskens, secretary 1 for equity and diversity; Monet Lewis, certificate recipient; President Conway-Turner; Melissa Caldwell, student assistant; Victoria Murty, certificate recipient; and Karen Clinton Jones, chief diversity officer.

Middle: Zittel-Barr with President Conway-Turner.

Bottom: Callejas, award recipient; Meg Knowles, associate professor of communication and coordinator of women and gender studies minor; and Cerbone, award recipient.

View photo gallery from the awards ceremony.

Tagged as: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

News Archive

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |