Skip to main content
EOP Honors Convocation: May 7

EOP Honors Convocation: May 7

Posted: May 5, 2015

The Arthur O. Eve Educational Opportunity Program (EOP) will celebrate the exemplary academic performance of its outstanding students at the annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, May 7, at 3:30 p.m. in Performing Arts Center at Rockwell Hall. This year's theme is "Imagine, Believe, Achieve: Because of Buffalo State EOP, I Am Reaching for the Stars."

The program started at Buffalo State in 1967 to give promising students from low-income families a chance to attend college. EOP is dedicated to providing support and assistance to those students who are capable of succeeding in a college setting but have limited preparation or resources. Prospective students who meet the criteria for EOP can apply for the program as a part of the regular Buffalo State application.

“EOP is not alone in its support of students, Buffalo State is a warm and nurturing place to be,” said Yanick Jenkins, director of EOP. “We value academic rigor, while maintaining a sense of belonging as students transform, becoming respected members of society.” 

The convocation program will start with a video spotlight of student testimonials and a spoken-word performance by the EOP Women’s Empowerment Group. President Katherine Conway Turner will offer greetings and Scott Johnson, dean of University College and associate vice president for undergraduate and international education, will provide congratulatory remarks. Highlights of the program include the presentation of special awards to students, faculty, and staff.

A Distinguished Alumnus Award will be presented to Carlton Sapp, Ph.D., '93. Originally from the Bronx, Sapp graduated from Buffalo State with a degree in social work. In 1994, he enrolled in the Advanced Standing MSW Program at Rutgers University. After graduating from Rutgers, he obtained his Ph.D. at Ohio State University. He has served as manager of community impact with the United Way of Greater Atlanta; vice president of community building for the Trident United Way in Charleston, South Carolina; coordinator and director of research teams at Greenville County Schools in Greenville, South Carolina, and Gwinnett County Schools in Suwanee, Georgia; and regional director for community impact with United Way Worldwide. In 2013, Sapp secured a position in the private sector as the global consumer insights analyst with the online music streaming service Spotify. He is currently the senior manager of the Voice of the Customer (VOC) program at Sears Holdings Corporation. He has also taught courses on community organizing, program development and strategic management, and social work practice in health care. Sapp and his family currently live in Chicago where he is heavily involved with his community.

The following awards and honors will also be given:

  • Alumni Association Awards: John-Paul G. Joss, Diamond J. Briggs
  • EOP Staff Merit Award: Todd O. Morford
  • Annie Joe Memorial Award: Kevin Chan
  • Kolowale Glover Memorial Award: Chinyere P. Nwabugwu
  • Martha Pierce Student Recognition Award: Tamika D. Miller
  • Theresa A. Shepard Advocacy Award: Constance Boakye
  • Arthur O. Eve Distinguished Student Achievement Award: Ikhia D. Moore
  • EOP Director’s Award: Diamond J. Briggs
  • EOP Faculty Merit Award: Jo A. Yudess, Ph.D.
  • Dougherty-Witten Scholarship: Catherine Guichardo


Recognition is given to students who have obtained a 3.0 semester- or cumulative-GPA during the 2014 calendar year. More than 250 EOP students received a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The award for the highest cumulative average by class will be given to first-year students Andrew J. Butt and Gabriela Ramirez Pujols; sophomore Edwin S. Delvalle; junior Kenzie Uwimana; and senior John-Paul Joss.

The campus community is invited to attend the program, with a catered reception to follow.

Tagged as: , , , ,

News Archive

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |