Skip to main content
EOP Honors Convocation Celebrates Investment in Education

EOP Honors Convocation Celebrates Investment in Education

Posted: May 4, 2018

The Arthur O. Eve Educational Opportunity Program will celebrate the academic performance of its students at its 51st annual Honors Convocation on Thursday, May 10, at 3:30 p.m. in the Performing Arts Center at Rockwell Hall. This year's theme is “Imagine, Believe, Achieve: Invested in Education.”

The EOP Honors Convocation will recognize students who have earned a 3.0 GPA for the spring or fall semester in 2017, including 266 students with a cumulative GPA for the 2017 calendar year.

Andrew Butt, an English major, received this year’s undergraduate President’s Medal. The President’s Medal is the highest honor awarded by Buffalo State College. It is given to a student who, through use of his or her natural talents and acquired skills, has demonstrated a commitment toward meeting the goals of higher education as set forth in the college’s mission statement. A GPA of at least 3.5 is required for consideration for this award. Butt will deliver the student address at Commencement.

Mohamed Koanda, who majored in computer information systems and earned a 3.9 while minoring in mathematics, received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Student Excellence, the highest honor bestowed by SUNY upon a student. This award recognizes model students who have integrated academic excellence with achievement in areas such as athletics, community service, creative and performing arts, entrepreneurship, leadership, and career achievement.

EOP is committed to the intellectual growth of all its students. A variety of activities and programs promote academic success including academic mentoring and advising; freshman academy; transfer academy; first-year peer mentoring; sophomore success; Chi Alpha Epsilon Honor Society; and many more.

The Honors Convocation will begin with a celebratory duet performance by graduating senior Diamond Smikle and junior Zhanna Reed. Highlights include the presentation of special awards to students, staff, and faculty. The Distinguished Alumnus Award will be presented to Vicki T. Sapp, ’94, ’97, who is the director of student engagement, diversity, and inclusion in the Department of Student Affairs at Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine. Sapp also cosponsors the SAPP Family Scholarship for an outstanding EOP student who has demonstrated financial need.

EOP is proud of the ongoing wonderful work of students, faculty, and staff. The campus community is invited to this celebration and the reception following. 

Tagged as: , , , , , , ,

News Archive

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |