Skip to main content

Communication Department Inducts Two New Hall of Famers

James Hill ’88 and Frank Stasio ’76 join 12 others

Posted: November 15, 2007
Two nationally acclaimed media professionals and Communication Department alums will be inducted into the Communication Hall of Fame on Nov. 16, 2007. The celebration will also include the induction of new students into the Lambda Pi Eta national communication honor society.

James Hill '88, and Frank Stasio '76, will join 12 other alums who include Academy, Emmy and Peabody Award winners.

Hill, an ABC News producer, was the lead field producer for the Oklahoma City bombing, the crash of TWA Fl. 800, Hurricane Katrina and the 2000 presidential election dispute. He earned an Emmy for Business and Financial Reporting for "The Broken Pension Promise," and a Sigma Delta Chi Award from the Society of Professional Journalists for an investigative series on Chicago gang members' involvement in politics.

Hill also won a National Headliner Award, two Golden Eagles for excellence in video production and four Edward R. Murrows from the Radio and Television News Directors Association.

Stasio can be heard on National Public Radio as a freelance reporter and substitute host for NPR programs including "Talk of the Nation." Before shifting into a freelance role, he served as an NPR newscaster from 1986 to 1990, writing and delivering six newscasts every day during NPR's award-winning "All Things Considered."

As an NPR producer of special news events coverage, Stasio coordinated NPR's live coverage of the Democratic and Republican national conventions in 1984 and served as line producer and director for five live programs from each convention site. He has held newscaster and news director positions at Buffalo's WGRQ FM, WYSL and WBFO.

Stasio is also engaged in teaching integrated academic skills through radio theater. Under his tutelage, students have produced award-winning productions that have aired on local radio stations in Washington, D.C., as well as been presented at the John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts there.

The 2007 Communication Hall of Fame and Honor Society induction ceremony will be held at 5:30 p.m. in the third floor lobby atrium of Bulger Communication Center, on the campus at 1300 Elmwood Ave.
Media Contact:
Nanette Tramont, Community Relations Coordinator, Communication Department | 7168786015 |

News Archive

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |