Skip to main content

Burchfield-Penney Auction and Gala Scheduled for October 26

Joan Bukowski and Nelson Montgomery Co-Chair Annual Event

Posted: September 12, 2007
The Burchfield-Penney Art Center’s annual gala and art auction will take place on Friday, October 26, 2007 in the Mary Seaton Room at Kleinhans Music Hall. The theme of the event is Building Excitement in celebration of the new Burchfield-Penney museum building, scheduled to open to the public in summer 2008.

“Building Excitement will be a terrific evening celebrating the arts in Western New York. Join us at one of our area's architectural masterpieces, Kleinhans Music Hall, as we prepare to open our area’s next architectural masterpiece, the new Burchfield-Penney Art Center,” said Joan Bukowski and Nelson Montgomery, 2007 Gala co-chairs.

The 2007 Gala and Auction honors William J. Magavern II and Linda Magavern for their leadership, vision and generosity. In 1999, Bill Magavern initiated the new Burchfield-Penney with a gift of $1 million. Today, Bill co-chairs the New Museum Project with Buffalo State College president Muriel A. Howard and remains active in all aspects of new museum planning.

“This is the most exciting time in the 40 year history of the Burchfield-Penney Art Center, as we prepare for the move into our new museum building,” said Ted Pietrzak, director of the Burchfield-Penney. “The museum’s success depends on the support and generosity of our many volunteers, members and the Western New York community. Our annual gala and auction highlights the excitement which surrounds this organization.”

The 2007 auction features 12 works in the live auction and 45 pieces of art in the silent auction. The media range from pencil drawing, watercolor, mixed media, steel sculpture, ceramics, gouache, acrylic, pastel, monotypes, oil, collage, wood engravings, linocut, photography, serigraph, enamel, and earthenware. Artists who have generously donated work for this event include Gail McCarthy, Valeria Cray-Dihaan, Joseph Orffeo, Joseph Piccillo, Walter Prochownik, Patricia Carter, Nancy Belfer, Joesph Whalen, Sylvia L. Rosen, George Palmer, Lynn Northrop, Deborah Stewart, Coni Minneci, Milton Rogovin, AJ Fries, Andy Russell, Carrianne Hendrickson, Joyce Hill, Ani Hoover, Scott Losi and Robert Masak.

Each year, watercolor artist and great friend of the Burchfield-Penney, Rita Argen Auerbach, tutors a special guest artist in the creation of a watercolor painting for this event. The 2007 “celebrity” artist is Dr. Stanley Kardonsky, vice president of finance and management for Buffalo State College.

Gala committee members are David Buck, Robert C. Drake, Edwin M. Johnston III, William H. Pearce, Jr., Calvin Rand, William Rupp, Jill Sessa, Victor Shanchuk Jr., Jennifer Bernacki Smith, Jeannie M. Wolf, CMP and Matt Wolfe.

For tickets and information, contact Jeannie Wolf, event coordinator for the gala at Event Elements at (716) 636-5797 or A complete auction preview will be available at

About the Burchfield-Penney Art Center

The Burchfield-Penney Art Center is a museum dedicated to the art and vision of Charles E. Burchfield and distinguished artists of Buffalo Niagara and Western New York State. Through its affiliation with Buffalo State College, the museum encourages learning and celebrates our richly creative and diverse community. For more information, contact the Burchfield-Penney Art Center at 716 878 6011 or visit

The new 84,000 square foot Burchfield-Penney, designed by Gwathmey Siegel and Associates Architects, is scheduled to open in the summer of 2008. The two-story building will be the Burchfield-Penney’s first free-standing home and have a major presence on Elmwood Avenue in the heart of Buffalo’s Museum District.

The Burchfield-Penney Art Center is accredited by the American Association of Museums and is supported in part with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts, the Institute of Museum and Library Services and Erie County. Additional operating support is provided by Buffalo State College, the Elizabeth Elser Doolittle Trust, the James Carey Evans Endowment, the Mary A. H. Rumsey Foundation and charitable contributions by museum members and visitors. Media sponsor: Buffalo Spree.
Media Contact:
Kathleen Heyworth, Head of Marketing and Public Relations | 7168784529 |

News Archive

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod Dahlgren
Director, Public Relations
(716) 878-4201

Laurie Kaiser
Assistant Director, Public Relations
(716) 878-3520

Mark Norris
Editor, News and Events
(716) 878-4859

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Design |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |