Burchfield Penney Art Center Announces Interim Leadership Team

Burchfield Penney Art Center Announces Interim Leadership Team

Posted: July 13, 2017

The Burchfield Penney Art Center at SUNY Buffalo State has announced its interim management structure while a search commences to replace executive director Anthony Bannon who stepped down from the position on June 30. Carolyn Morris-Hunt, chief operating officer, and Scott Propeack, associate director/chief curator, will share leadership duties while the search for Dr. Bannon’s replacement is conducted.

Morris-Hunt has been chief operating officer at the Burchfield Penney since 2009 after a decade-long career at Buffalo State. Her responsibilities include oversight of the center’s administration, finance, and operations departments.

Propeack joined the Burchfield Penney in 1999 and has held several positions of increasing responsibility throughout his tenure there. He has been associate director/chief curator since 2010, and his responsibilities include management of the Burchfield Penney’s collections and exhibitions program.

Both Morris-Hunt and Propeack will report to Carol Kociela, chairperson of the center’s board of trustees, and Melanie L. Perreault, provost and vice president for academic affairs for Buffalo State.

Tagged as:


No comments have been posted


We welcome and encourage your input regarding our stories.

To comment, you must enter and verify a valid e-mail address. To verify: Click on the verification link in the e-mail you receive from Buffalo State. You only need to register once.

Registered commenters agree not to post messages of questionable taste, that are libelous, or offensive.

Comments that are deemed inappropriate may be edited or deleted without notice. Users who repeatedly violate these guidelines will be banned.

Name (required)
E-mail (required, but will not be published)
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Leave this field blank

News Archive

2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod Dahlgren
Director, Public Relations
(716) 878-4201

Mary A. Durlak
Senior Writer, Public Relations
(716) 878-3517

Laurie Kaiser
Staff Writer, Public Relations
(716) 878-3520

Mark Norris
Editor, News and Events
(716) 878-4859

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Design |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |