Skip to main content
Buffalo State Scholarship Gala Benefits Honors Students

Buffalo State Scholarship Gala Benefits Honors Students

'All College Honors Program' to be Named 'Muriel A. Howard Honors Program'

Posted: April 16, 2013

Buffalo State’s 16th annual Foundation Scholarship Gala will be held on Saturday, April 20, at the Statler, 107 Delaware Avenue, in Buffalo.

Festivities begin at 6:00 p.m. with wine and food pairings by Premier Wine & Spirits, followed by a multicourse gourmet dinner at 7:00 p.m., dancing, and a live auction.

Proceeds from the gala provide scholarships to students enrolled in Buffalo State’s prestigious All College Honors Program. Established in 1984, the honors program currently enrolls more than 200 students who engage in special seminars; receive individual attention from dedicated, highly qualified faculty members; are rewarded with opportunities for applied internships, research, and awards; and have access to their own residence hall and lounge. The gala has helped to raise more than $3 million in scholarship funds for students in the honors program since the fundraiser began in 1998.

This year’s event will also mark the All College Honors program officially being named the Muriel A. Howard Honors Program to honor the former Buffalo State president’s more than 13 years of leadership at the college.

Howard, who currently serves as president of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) in Washington, D.C., will return to Buffalo to take part in the gala.

 “Dr. Howard’s leadership, vision, and commitment founded on an unwavering dedication to Buffalo State students were pivotal in shaping the culture of excellence that exists today in all facets of the college,” said Buffalo State President Aaron Podolefsky. “It is with profound gratitude to Dr. Howard for her exemplary presidential tenure and for establishing a solid foundation for Buffalo State’s future that we name our hallmark educational program in her honor.”

As AASCU president, Howard is an advocate for public higher education at the national level, working to influence federal policy and regulations on behalf of member colleges and universities; serving as a resource to presidents and chancellors as they address state policy and emerging campus issues; and providing professional development opportunities for presidents, chancellors, and their spouses.

This year’s gala chairs are Benjamin M. Zuffranieri, Jr., ’80; Mary Ellen Zuffranieri, ’80; and Rock D. Doyle, ‘99. Presenting sponsors are BlueCross BlueShield of Western New York, Larkin Development Group, LP Ciminelli, and M&T Bank.

Tickets are $200 per person. For more information, please contact Kathryn Neeson at (716) 878-4895.

Tagged as: , , , , , , ,

News Archive

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |