Skip to main content
Buffalo State Boasts Seven Chancellor's Award Winners

Buffalo State Boasts Seven Chancellor's Award Winners

Posted: May 30, 2014

Five faculty members—two full-time and three adjunct—and two staff members at SUNY Buffalo State have received the 2014 Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence.

David Henry, associate professor of elementary education, and Joseph Marren, associate professor and chair of the communication department, were honored for excellence in faculty service. Lecturers Leigh Duffy, philosophy; Edward Taylor, English; and Dennis Wojtaszczyk, English, were honored for excellence in adjunct teaching. Jill Powell, senior assistant to the vice president for finance and management, was recognized for excellence in professional service, and Beverly MacKenzie secretary in the School of Education, was recognized for excellence in classified service.

The Chancellor’s Award provides system-wide recognition for consistently superior professional achievement and encourages the ongoing pursuit of excellence. The awards provide SUNY-wide recognition in five categories: faculty service; librarianship; professional service; scholarship and creative activities, and teaching.

“Faculty and staff who receive the Chancellor’s Award for Excellence have served their students, fellow faculty and staff, campuses, and communities with the utmost distinction,” said SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher. “It is a great honor to be able to recognize David Henry, Joseph Marren, Edward Taylor, Leigh Duffy, Dennis Wojtaskzczyk, Jill Powell, and Beverly MacKenzie at Buffalo State with this award. Congratulations to all of this year’s honorees across New York State.”

In acknowledgment of their selection, recipients are recognized in the college catalog by the addition of the phrase “State University Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in [category].” A certificate and a Chancellor’s Excellence Medallion are also bestowed upon each honoree to commemorate selection. The seven recipients will be honored publicly in the fall during Buffalo State’s 2014 Faculty and Staff Recognition Ceremony.

Tagged as: , , , , , ,

News Archive

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |