Skip to main content

Buffalo State Athletics Honors Annual Award Winners

Posted: May 8, 2007
The Buffalo State Department of Intercollegiate Athletics honored its major award winners last night at its annual awards banquet at the Holiday Inn - Amherst.

The honored guests at the banquet included the MVP's and seniors from Buffalo State's athletic teams as well as several major and memorial award winners.

Hockey player Sean Sheehan (Mt. Laurel, NJ/Lenape) and track standout Justin Muise (Kenmore/Kenmore West) shared the Hube Coyer Award for outstanding career athletic accomplishments by a male. Sheehan was a four-year starter between the pipes, earning All-SUNYAC honors three times, including First Team as a junior. He backstopped the Bengals to two SUNYAC playoff appearances. He finished his career as the owner of nine school goaltending records, including most wins in a season (11) and career (26), goals-against-average in a season (3.24) and career (3.82), and save percentage in a season (.900) and career (.893). Muise became the first Buffalo State track and field All-American since 1986, placing sixth in the outdoor 400-meter dash at the NCAA Division III Championships as a sophomore in 2004. In that same year, he was named New York State Runner of the Meet after winning the 400-meter dash. In all, he was a seven-time SUNYAC Champion and won three New York State Championships. He was a three-time national qualifier, and finished his four-year career with two school records.

Basketball player Jacey Brooks (Machias/Franklinville) was voted the winner of the Ruth Houston Award for outstanding career athletic accomplishments by a female. Brooks, a health and wellness major, was a four-year starter for the Bengals and a two-time Second Team All-SUNYAC selection. She helped guide the team to three SUNYAC playoff appearances and in the process became the fourth highest scorer in school history with 1,219 career points. She also ranks ninth on the school’s career rebounding list with 554 and holds the school’s records for free throw percentage in a season (.870) and in a career (.845).

Track athlete Mario Hicks (Corning/Corning West) and men’s hockey player Jason Hill (Niagara Falls/Niagara Falls) were Co-Bengal Award winners for “Male Athlete of the Year” honors. Hicks, an English major, earned All-America honors, finishing second in the 55-meter hurdles at the NCAA Division III Championships. He also equaled the school record and won the New York State and SUNYAC Championships in the same event. Hill, a health and wellness major, was named Second Team All-SUNYAC after helping the Bengals to their best-ever conference finish. He led the Bengals with 14 goals and 39 points and tied a school record with 25 assists. Jason ranked 13th in the nation in scoring and 10th in assists.

Track and field athlete Jenelle Orosz collected the Bengal Award for “Female Athlete of the Year”. The English education major became the first-ever Buffalo State female track and field All-American, placing sixth in the high jump at the Indoor NCAA Division III Championships. She broke her own school record three times. She also captured the high jump championships at the SUNYAC and New York State Championship meets.

Women's hockey player Courtney Wagner (Connellsville, PA/Connellsville) was honored as the Female Scholar Athlete, an award that honors the senior-athletes with the highest cumulative grade point average. A health and wellness major, she has maintained a 3.84 cumulative grade point average. Men’s soccer player Clint Holcomb (Victor/Victor) received the Male Scholar Athlete Award. He completed his bachelor’s degree in health and wellness last spring with a 3.82 GPA, and currently has a 4.00 and will complete his master’s in applied economics this semester.

Two memorial awards, the Daniel Walker Cross Country and the Robert Kissinger Swimming and Diving Awards, were also presented to student-athletes from the respective sports who exemplify an outstanding work ethic and commitment to the team and college. Jen Bernard (Hyde Park/FD Roosevelt) received the Walker Award and Lance Thornton (Hastings/Hastings) received the Kissinger.

The final major award was the Golden Bengals Award, which recognizes the member of the college community who goes beyond his or her job description to assist the athletics department. This year's recipients were Barb Myers and Nancy McGee from the Foundation Accounting office.

The following is a list of the 2006-07 Buffalo State Athletics teams Most Valuable Players:

Men’s Basketball - Carlton Guiden (Bronx/Wade Hampton)
Women’s Basketball - Jacey Brooks (Machias/Franklinville)
Cheerleading - Bonnie Simmons (Rochester/Churchville/Chili)
Men’s Cross Country - Josh Demars (Fulton/G. Ray Bodley)
Women’s Cross Country - Jenny Vacanti (Nia.Falls/Nia.-Wheatfield)
Football - Bob Vesona (Depew/Depew)
Men’s Ice Hockey - Sean Sheehan (Mt. Laurel, NJ/Lenape)
Women’s Ice Hockey - Shannon Anesetti (Canonsburg, PA/Canon-McMillan)
Women’s Lacrosse - Ashley Parker (Watertown/Watertown)
Men’s Soccer - Shawn McDonell (W. Seneca/W. Seneca W.)
Women’s Soccer - Tiffany Ebner (Penfield/Penfield)
Softball - Jolene Banach (Cheektowaga/Maryvale)
Men’s Swimming & Diving - Kevin Buisman (Penfield/Penfield)
Women’s Swimming & Diving - Mindy Wood (Middlesex/Marcus Whitman)
Men’s Indoor Track & Field - Willie Hordge (Buffalo/Forrestbrook TX)
Women’s Indoor Track & Field - Toya Edwards (Brooklyn/Clara Barton)
Men’s Outdoor Track & Field - Tim Diegelman (Clarence/Clarence)
Women’s Outdoor Track & Field - Jamie Abbott (Pulaski/Pulaski)
Women’s Volleyball - Keri Bumgardner (Babylon/W. Babylon)
Media Contact:
Jeff Ventura, Sports Information Director | 7168786030 |

News Archive

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod Dahlgren
Director, Public Relations
(716) 878-4201

Laurie Kaiser
Assistant Director, Public Relations
(716) 878-3520

Mark Norris
Editor, News and Events
(716) 878-4859

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Design |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |