Skip to main content
Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2013

Athletics Announces Hall of Fame Class of 2013

Posted: August 27, 2013

Three former All-Americans will lead six inductees as the Class of 2013 of the Buffalo State Athletics Hall of Fame.

Jenelle Orosz, track and field, '08; Mario Hicks, track and field, '08; and John Mattey, football, '93; will join Ray Perez, soccer, '69; Chris Fuller, basketball, '73; and honorary inductee Joseph Adessa, coach; as the newest members of the hall at an induction ceremony to be held on Friday, September 27.

Orosz became Buffalo State's first-ever female track and field All-American when she placed sixth in the high jump at the 2007 Indoor NCAA Division III Championships. In that same season, she also won titles in the event at the SUNYAC and New York State championship meets. She garnered second team All-SUNYAC honors finishing runner-up in the event during the indoor meet in 2005 and the outdoor meet in 2007. Orosz was also named ESPN Academic All-District and earned the President's Medal and SUNY Chancellor's Award for Student Excellence upon graduation after maintaining a 3.95 undergraduate cumulative grade point average. She was also the 2007 Buffalo State Female Athlete of the Year.

Hicks competed for two seasons at Buffalo State, earning a pair of All-America certificates while capturing six SUNYAC Championships. He was the runner-up at the 2007 Indoor NCAA Division III Championships in the 55-meter hurdles and then placed fifth in the same event the following year. He was a two-time SUNYAC Champion in both the indoor 55-meter hurdles and outdoor 110-meter hurdles. Hicks also swept the New York State Championships in those events each year and won two more titles in the 4x100-meter relay. He was the 2008 Buffalo State Male Athlete of the Year and won the Hube Coyer Award for outstanding career accomplishments.

Mattey broke into the starting lineup as an offensive lineman in the third game of his freshman season, and started every game after that. As a senior in 1993, he became Buffalo State's first Kodak AFCA All-American. In his four seasons, Buffalo State went 31-10 and made three consecutive postseason trips (including the first in school history). After an ECAC Bowl title in 1991, Buffalo State made its first-ever trips to the NCAA playoffs in 1992 and 1993. The Bengals averaged over 360 yards-per game of total offense each season.

Perez played two seasons at Buffalo State as a center half back. In his first season, he helped lead the team to its best-ever record of 12-1-1 and a SUNYAC Championship. After advancing past Fairleigh Dickinson in the first round of the NCAA Tournament, Buffalo State fell 2-1 against Navy in the NCAA Quarterfinals. He served as a co-captain during his senior season which was cut short by injuries.

Fuller played three seasons of varsity basketball at Buffalo State from 1970–1973 and was part of a pair of teams that won SUNYAC Championships and advanced to the NCAA Playoffs. He tallied 487 points in 51 career games, averaging 9.5 points and 6.4 rebounds. He was named All-SUNYAC as a senior when he led Buffalo State in scoring, averaging 15.1 points-per-game.

Adessa coached basketball and soccer at Buffalo State. He led the soccer program from 1948-54, establishing a record of 25-25-2, including a 6-1-1 mark in 1952. He coach the school's freshmen basketball team from 1948-52 and again from 1958-60, and also led the varsity basketball team from 1952-55. In his three seasons with the varsity program, he was 35-18 for a winning percentage of .660.

One hundred eighty-five Buffalo State athletes and supporters have been inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame since its inception in 1985.

The induction ceremony will be part of Orange Crush, Homecoming/Family Weekend festivities. For ticket information, contact Senior Associate Athletics Director Tom Koller at (716) 878-6514.

Tagged as: , ,

News Archive

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |