Skip to main content
Additional Teachers Named to Western New York Master Teacher Cohort

Additional Teachers Named to Western New York Master Teacher Cohort

Posted: April 21, 2014

Buffalo State is pleased to welcome an additional 20 teachers to the western region New York State Master Teacher Program.

In May 2013, Buffalo State was chosen to be the Western New York host for the program.

The new group joins the first group of the current cohort of master teachers from Western New York. The new master teachers who were selected are:

Amy Balling, Lancaster School District

Sami Cirpili, Buffalo Public Schools

David Doty, Cattaraugus-Little Valley Central School District

John Elliott, Sweet Home School District

Paula Ferneza, Frewsburg School District

Natalie Gallagher, Depew School District

Joseph Gallagher, Lewiston-Porter School District

Sandra George, Frontier School District

Amy Graves-DeMario, Holland School District

Andrew Harrison, Williamsville Central School District

Michelle Hill, Hamburg School District

Melanie Hulton, Holland School District

Amy Lauer, Fredonia School District

Lee Nowocien, Grand Island Central School District

Robert Parry, Depew School District

Mary Beth Richey, East Aurora School District

Kathleen Sugg, Clarence Central School District

Julie Tette, Lockport School District

Kristina Tomei, Starpoint School District

Edith White, Lockport School District

“We are delighted to welcome and recognize another group of outstanding teachers from schools across our Western region to the New York State Master Teacher program,” said Wendy Paterson, dean of the School of Education at Buffalo State. Paterson and Mark Severson, dean of the School of Natural and Social Sciences, are leading the program.

David Henry, associate professor of elementary education and reading, and David Wilson, associate professor of mathematics, are directing the program. Buffalo State will host a reception for the new members of the cohort on April 29.

To be eligible to apply for the Master Teacher program, teachers must have at least four years of experience teaching STEM (science, technology, engineering, and math) disciplines. Their course load must include at least 60 percent of STEM subjects. Master teachers receive a $15,000 stipend per year over for years for participating in the program. Participation includes:

  • Engaging in peer mentoring and intensive content-oriented professional development opportunities throughout the academic year.
  • Working closely with pre-service and early career teachers to foster a supportive environment for the next generation of STEM teachers.
  • Attending required regular cohort meetings and participating in and leading several professional development sessions each year.


Tagged as: , , , , ,

News Archive

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000

Contact Information

Jerod T. Dahlgren
Communications Director
(716) 878-4201

Laurie A. Kaiser
Assistant Director, Communications
(716) 878-3520

Michael T. Canfield
Communications Specialist
(716) 878-3517

Nancy Paschke
Editorial Director
(716) 878-4237

News Tags

Alumni |
Dance |
Film |
Giving |
Music |
Runway |